The Governing Board of Ashmount Primary School was reconstituted in line with new legislation in March 2015. The Governing Board is now made up of 11 governors: 1 Head Teacher; 1 other staff governor elected by the staff ; 1 governor nominated by the Local Authority; 4 parent governors elected by the parents, and 4 governors co-opted to the Board on the basis of their skills, knowledge and experience.

While the Headteacher has overall responsibility for the management and running of the school on a day-to-day basis, the governors (who include the Head Teacher) are responsible for matters of policy. We meet to discuss areas such as finance, personnel, teaching and learning, premises and communications.

To contact Dean James Robbins (Chair)  or Lucy Kilkenny (Vice Chair) please use the following email:

Staff Governors

Anthony Carmel (Head Teacher) – 18/03/2015 to 18/03/2019

LA Governor

Michelline Ngongo – 02/03/2015 to 01/03/2019

Parent Governors

Kim Crockett – 26/09/2016 to 25/02/2020

Iain Patterson – 26/02/2016 to 25/02/2020 (Safeguarding and LAC)

Co-opted Governors

Dean James-Robbins (Chairman) – 10/02/2016 to 09/02/2020 (Pupil Premium)

Lucy Kilkenny (Vice Chair) – 18/03/2015 to 17/03/2019 (Early Years)

David Barry – 18/03/2015 to 17/03/2019

Vaughan Melsom – 18/03/2015 to 17/03/2019


Associate Members:

The reconstituted Governing Board voted to invite applications from the staff and parent bodies for associate membership of the Board’s sub-committees. Associate Members have voting rights on the committees to which they are attached but not at FGB Meetings. Their attendance at FGB is, therefore, optional. We have now appointed six associate members as follows:


Steve Allison – 09/07/2017 to 08/07/2019

Catherine Burkin – 09/07/2017 to 08/07/2019 (Special Educational Needs and Disability)

Ian Goodfellow – 09/07/2017 to 08/07/2019

Kate Peers – 09/07/2017 to 08/07/2019


Eleanor Haworth – 09/07/2017 to 08/07/2019

Sharon Turney – 18/03/2017 to 17/03/2019

Louise Smyth – 09/12/17 to 08/12/2021

The current members of the Full Governing Board (with their terms of office) are available to view on the links below:

Members-of-the-Governing-Body-and-Sub-committees-Sept-2017 (1)


1 All Committee Terms of Reference MAR 2017